top of page

Pretzel Buns

I'm not a sweet breakfast person. I much rather eat an omelet or burger rather than anything sweet. That being said, I LOVED breakfast in Europe. Breakfast in most of the countries I was in consisted of rolled up deli meats, sliced cheeses, spreadable cheese wedges, assorted breads, sliced veggies, and fruit. I would say it was my favorite meal of the day there, but you can't pick a favorite when you eat baguette sandwiches for lunch, schnitzel for dinner and top it off with a cone of gelato. Nope, can't pick!


One of my favorite breads were Pretzel Rolls. I think I ate 1-2 of them everyday in Austria. (Good thing I was biking and walking everywhere!) I loved spreading some cheese on them and eating with veggies or making a sandwich with them for lunch. Mmmm take me back!


These Pretzel Buns remind me of those sunny mornings eating breakfast in hostels and with monks. You can shape them into buns for sandwiches and burgers or into hoggie shaped rolls.


 

PRETZEL BUNS

makes 10 Pretzel Buns


INGREDIENTS:

  • 500 grams All-Purpose Flour (1 pound)

  • 2 1/4 tsp Yeast

  • 2 tsp Salt

  • 300ml room temp Water

  • 40g Butter, melted and cooled

  • 3 Tbsp Baking Soda for baking soda bath

  • Coarse Sea Salt for topping


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Combine flour, yeast and salt.

  2. Mix in the water and melted butter. 

  3. Mix for a few minutes, until dough ball forms. (Add more flour if necessary)

  4. Kneading for a few minutes until you have an elastic dough ball.

  5. Put the dough back into the bowl, cover with a towel and let it rise in a slightly warm oven for 1 hour.

  6. Punch the dough down and knead for 1 minute.

  7. Divide it into 10 pieces. Dust your hands with flour and shape into bun or hoagie roll.

  8. Cover with a towel and let them rise for 20 minutes in a warm place.

  9. Preheat oven to 425°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat.

  10. In a large skillet, fill 2/3's of the way with water and add the baking soda and bring to a boil.

  11. Using a slotted spoon or spatula, gently place buns into the boiling water and cook for 30 seconds on each side.

  12. Take them out and place on baking sheet. (Work quickly. If they sit for too long after cooking them in the baking soda bath, the tops won’t be shiny after baking.

  13. Score a fairly deep cross on the tops of the buns and sprinkle with coarse sea salt.

  14. Bake for 16 minutes or until golden brown.

32 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page